News Photo
Conference News - Tue, Jun. 20, 2017

New Orleans -- Nominees for AllState Sugar Bowl yearly and Amateur Athlete of the Month awards were announced Tuesday ahead of the Sports Awards Committee vote. Gulf Coast Athletic Conference coaches and student-athletes received a number of nominations, capping off a strong year that saw several programs continue their prominence on the local, regional and national scenes.

Southern University at New Orleans (SUNO) led the nominations for GCAC member institutions with three. Head Coach Yhann Plummer, who recently won the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Association (USTFCCCA) South Region Coach of the Year award, is nominated for the Eddie Robinson Award, given annually to an athlete, coach, team or athletic administrator in the state of Louisiana who has demonstrated the qualities most closely associated with Coach Robinson: outstanding achievement in athletics, academics, sportsmanship, and citizenship by maximizing the use of limited resources.

Joining Plummer is SUNO track and field standout Jahnoy Thompson, who won three nationals championships for the program, and was named meet MVP at the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) Indoor Nationals Championships in Johnson City, Tenn. Thompson was also named USTFCCCA South Region Athlete of the Year.

Rounding out SUNO's nominations is Shadae Hyton, who captured the women's 400-meter championships with a blazing fast time of 54.41 at NAIA Women's Outdoor Track and Field Championships in Gulf Shores, Ala. Hylton also set the GCAC Championship record with a 54.17 in the 400. Hylton is nominated for New Orleans Athlete of the Month for May.

Xavier University of Louisiana received two nominations for their excellence in tennis. Men's tennis Head Coach Alan Green was nominated for Louisiana Outstanding College Coach. Green was voted ITA-NAIA Me's National and Region IV (South) Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year, and led his men's team to the runner-up spot at NAIA National Tennis Championship for the second time. Under his leadership, Xavier possesses the longest active NAIA streak of men's tennis top-25 appearances with 85. The streak began April 4, 2007. Green previously won Louisiana Outstanding Coach of the Year Award in 2016.

Xavier's Karan Salwan received a nod for Amateur Athlete of the Month for May. Salwan posted a 2-0 record in singles and 3-1 doubles at NAIA National Championships in Mobile, Ala. He also led the Gold Rush to a second consecutive national second-place finish.

Winners will be announced later in the day on Tuesday.

The Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee began in 1957 when James Collins spearheaded a group of sports journalists to form a sports awards committee to immortalize local sports history. For 13 years, the committee honored local athletes each month. In 1970, the Sugar Bowl stepped in to sponsor and revitalize the committee, leading to the 1971 creation of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame, honoring 10 legends from the Crescent City in its first induction class. While adding the responsibility of selecting Hall of Famers, the committee has continued to recognize the top amateur athlete in the Greater New Orleans area each month - the honors enter their 60th year in 2016. To be eligible, an athlete must be a native of the greater New Orleans area or must compete for a team in the metropolitan region. Each of the monthly award winners are honored in the summer at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony, hosted by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.